Intel Extreme Masters

Major Tournaments

The Intel Extreme Masters began in 2006 with the first winners Team Pentagram of Poland taking the Counter-Strike crown in 2007. Originally a European event, the tournament quickly expanded to incorporate players from Asia and North America after Intel realised that there was a market for global expansion.

The tournament is owned by Turtle Entertainment, sanctioned by the Electronic Sports League and Intel provides the event’s sponsorship. The first year of the Masters tournament saw just two games played – Counter Strike and Warcraft III. It has now vastly expanded to cover events in CSGO, League of Legends, Quake Live and Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft.

Twelve teams are split equally into Group A and Group B and play in a round robin tournament. The winners from the groups advance to the semi-finals, and the second and third place teams in each group compete for the remaining spaces in the semi-finals. Teams then continue in a best-of-three competition with the two winners from these games going on to the final. The final two teams play the best-of-five to decide who is crowned as champions.

Intel Extreme Masters 2017

The IEM is considered the largest esports competition in the world. This year’s Intel Extreme Masters Katowice finals saw a 35% growth in online viewers from last year, reaching an incredible 46 million unique viewers through online platforms such as Youtube and Twitch. Discussions of the matches also take place on Reddit where a growing esports community continues to thrive.

Teams and Players

The Katowice tournament took place between March 1st-March 5th this year. A further tournament is due to take place in Sydney in May 2017. Here are a list of the teams who took part in the CSGO Intel Extreme Masters 2017 tournament in Katowice:

Of these twelve teams, 8 were invited and four qualified through the European and North American qualifying rounds. The four who qualified were Fnatic (EU), Natus Vincere (EU), Heroic (EU) and Immortals (NA).

Astralis took the win in the Katowice CSGO Intel Extreme Masters 2017 and they have also experienced successes elsewhere this year. The Danish team also finished first in the ELEAGUE Major and the esports Championship Series Season 2, beating Virtus.Pro and OpTic Gaming respectively. Not bad for a team that have been together just over a year in their current configuration.
Legendary players in the competition included Astralis’ dupreeh, Patrik ‘f0rest’ Lindberg of Ninjas in Pyjamas and all-rounder Gabriel ‘FalleN’ Toledo of SK Gaming.

betway CSGO Betting 100% Deposit Bonus Go to betway

Game Results and Prizes

The IEM sees players compete for a prize pool of $250,000. Astralis scooped $100,000 for finishing first in the competition with the team they beat in the finals, FaZe Clan receiving $40,000 from the prize pool. 3rd and 4th place received $20,000 each. In addition to the prize money, teams also received $1,000 per victory, taking Astralis’ total win to $104,000. Here are the results below:

  1. Astralis
  2. FaZe Clan
  3. Immortals
  4. Heroic
  5. North
  6. Natus Vincere
  7. Fnatic
  8. Virtus.Pro
  9. Cloud 9
  10. Ninjas in Pyjamas
  11. SK Gaming
  12. Optic Gaming.